Discussion of challenges you have already solved
gfoot
Posts: 269 Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:34 pm
Location: Brighton, UK
Post
by gfoot » Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:46 pm
I don't remember this challenge, but probably just make a .html file containing a form with the right post variables? You can also use something like curl or wget from the command line, if you have access to them.
karma-fusebox
Posts: 23 Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:37 pm
Post
by karma-fusebox » Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:38 pm
gfoot wrote: make a .html file containing a form with the right post variables?
thats what i did. but it seemed not very professional to me..
so i will have a look at wget/curl if i need this again.
PeterS
Posts: 24 Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:17 pm
Post
by PeterS » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:35 pm
Doing it with curl probably would have been the easiest choice here, since it were only one line.
But I did it with a few lines of Python for my convenience:
Code: Select all
#!/usr/bin/env python
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
import urllib
url = "http://www.hacker.org/challenge/chal.php"
data = {"answer": "marmelade", "id": "27", "go": "Submit", "name": "PeterS", "spw": "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"}
print urllib.urlopen(url, urllib.urlencode(data)).read()
Of course you would have to replace the x's with your submit pw, if you wanted to use it.
Pappe
Posts: 1 Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:16 pm
Post
by Pappe » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:59 pm
I solved this by using firebug, simply edit get to post and execute the modified page
PeterS
Posts: 24 Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:17 pm
Post
by PeterS » Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:22 pm
Wow, that's so much easier, but I didn't think of this method when doing the challenge
Admiral Beotch
Posts: 4 Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:06 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Post
by Admiral Beotch » Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:44 am
web developer plugin to change form from get to post, then tamper data plugin to modify the answer field.
Force4
Posts: 29 Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:33 pm
Post
by Force4 » Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:20 am
You can also just type some javascript in the address bar of your browser:
javascript:function z(){document.frm.method='POST';};z();
Press enter, and use the form normally.
chephy
Posts: 17 Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:39 pm
Post
by chephy » Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:07 pm
Ah, this challenge is so much easier using today's browsers, e.g. using Chrome's built-in developer tools: right-click the submit button, choose »Inspect Element«, double-click on the »GET« in the HTML code, write »POST«, press the submit button as usual.
The same probably applies for Firefox in combination with some web developer extensions.
Guderian
Posts: 18 Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:31 pm
Location: Greece
Post
by Guderian » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:24 am
i used "Live HHTP Headers" addon for Firefox. Took me only a couple of seconds
Millennium
Posts: 17 Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:08 am
Post
by Millennium » Sun May 15, 2011 8:12 pm
I used Chrome's Inspect element and replaced "GET" with "POST" and pressed it.