Page 1 of 1
Hello World
Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 2:05 pm
by moushika
Hi,
I wrote the program needed for the challenge and it works.
But when I run it with the python hackvm, it just prints 'Hello, World'.
It does not give any answer or hint.
Is it a bug in hackvm or did i not understand the challenge ?
Re: Hello World
Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 6:14 pm
by MerickOWA
Just paste your program into the answer box and submit that.
your program is your answer

Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 6:51 pm
by moushika
Thank you, it works now!
Hello World!
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:41 pm
by Hydra
1 REM * THIS A SAMPLE PROGRAM IN BASIC *;
2 REM* BY HYDRA*;
3 PRINT "HELLO WORLD";
4 END
RUN
HELLO WORLD
THIS ANOTHER SAMPLE
IN MICROSOFT QBASIC
REM *HELLOWORLD*
INPUT "WHAT IS YOUR NAME:" ;A$
PRINT "THANK YOU";A$
END
RUN
WHAT IS YOUR NAME: HYDRA
THANK YOU HYDRA
Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:54 pm
by knoerxi
Hi i'am confused..
Expected: 'Hello, World', got: 'Hello, World'
'[program code here]' is incorrect.
The output of my programm is the right answer probably, why is it incorrect?
Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:40 pm
by SinistraD
I just solved it, so I can help you, send me your code, and I'll take a look on it
Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 7:16 pm
by m!nus
knoerxi wrote:Hi i'am confused..
Expected: 'Hello, World', got: 'Hello, World'
'[program code here]' is incorrect.
The output of my programm is the right answer probably, why is it incorrect?
You have a 0x01 byte on the end, if you use firefox you see a little box
Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:42 pm
by knoerxi
Thank's again..
The 0x01 was not seen with my browser... and the tool i used to write the code had a nice little bug..
Re: My program
Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:14 am
by SinistraD
Omg, you're such a retard, do you want to steal from others the challenging experience?
Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:24 pm
by Allosentient
It's not much of a challenging challenge, haha.
Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:50 am
by wannabe7331
89*...*+P
much code?
regards wb7331
Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:32 am
by CodeX
challenges/challenges solved, practically the same aside from people who haven't completed the challenge can't view the challenges solved thread on it, I wonder why... I guess some things we will never know
Silly question?
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:17 pm
by Mad Mike
Okay, so I went the cheesy way and initialized my memory with a bunch of useful constants. Which works fine in both implementations, but can I tell the website to load my memory string somehow or do I need to do some real thinking?
Thanks~
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:17 pm
by guga
The memory isn't meant to be initialized by yourself. The memory can be initialized by the challenge itself (then it is stated in the challenge description).
Cf the hvm description
By default, [...] all the cells in the memory buffer set to 0. When specified, it is possible for the memory buffer to have been initialized to a known state before executing a program.
You can of course change the memory from within your program using the < > instruction.