Page 1 of 1

King Rat submission fails

Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:08 pm
by jeetee
My solution works both in the online js-version of the HVM as in the offline version (python-file). However when entering the string in the form field, a bunch of numbers are expected, and my solution is indicated as being incorrect.

The numbers to be expected vary every submission. One of the returned messages:

Code: Select all

Expected: '3903', got: '' for input '3903,3234,783,1190,1443,-305,2567,2641,3394,2624,3755,-150,3366,1200,1458,2074,2316,3681,3555,2065'
Expected: '3701', got: '' for input '2406,2943,3701,2387,3009,2800,3360,2695,3698,265,2321,2126,737,2502,337,2176,1907,1226,2502,280'
Expected: '3995', got: '' for input '233,239,2193,-214,561,1721,1621,857,3995,2939,-150,-76,3702,2585,1599,1599,1322,960,2133,27'
Expected: '3862', got: '' for input '1141,726,734,1050,-46,1065,1351,2403,747,2473,1580,59,293,1080,1255,329,507,3601,1921,3862'
Expected: '-523', got: '' for input '-1808,-1707,-2949,-1542,-2002,-1433,-3844,-883,-1525,-758,-692,-3712,-3226,-1076,-666,-523,-1085,-2323,-599,-1668'
Anyone can test if their solution is still valid?

Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:19 pm
by tails
Hi,

The message says your code prints nothing. Are you sure you submit a valid HVM code as a solution?

Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:18 pm
by jeetee
Ah.. I missed a print-command at the end indeed.
I should make the last testruns without tracing :roll:

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:24 pm
by superhacker
my code works in the Hack VM IDE, but not when i submit it.
Are there any syntax differences?
I use whitespaces in my code to make my life a bit easier, do they get stripped during submission?

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 10:02 pm
by livinskull
my code works in the Hack VM IDE, but not when i submit it.
Same here^^
But without whitespaces...

Getting a bunch of "HVM run ERROR: operand stack underflow (PC=2, STACK_SIZE=0)"

Huh, there was indeed some 'hidden' linebreak -.-

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:28 pm
by therethinker
There are no line breaks in "real" HVM, nor are there comments.
HVM programs should be 1 line.