Hello World

Post Reply
moushika
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:47 am

Hello World

Post by moushika »

Hi,

I wrote the program needed for the challenge and it works.
But when I run it with the python hackvm, it just prints 'Hello, World'.
It does not give any answer or hint.
Is it a bug in hackvm or did i not understand the challenge ?
MerickOWA
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:54 pm
Location: HkRkoz al KuwaiT 2019 HaCkEr 101

Re: Hello World

Post by MerickOWA »

Just paste your program into the answer box and submit that.

your program is your answer :)
moushika
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:47 am

Post by moushika »

Thank you, it works now!
User avatar
Hydra
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: U.S.A

Hello World!

Post by Hydra »

1 REM * THIS A SAMPLE PROGRAM IN BASIC *;
2 REM* BY HYDRA*;
3 PRINT "HELLO WORLD";
4 END

RUN

HELLO WORLD

THIS ANOTHER SAMPLE

IN MICROSOFT QBASIC

REM *HELLOWORLD*

INPUT "WHAT IS YOUR NAME:" ;A$
PRINT "THANK YOU";A$
END

RUN

WHAT IS YOUR NAME: HYDRA
THANK YOU HYDRA
I am not a Hacker. I am security professional.
knoerxi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:37 am

Post by knoerxi »

Hi i'am confused..


Expected: 'Hello, World', got: 'Hello, World'
'[program code here]' is incorrect.

The output of my programm is the right answer probably, why is it incorrect?
User avatar
SinistraD
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:39 am
Location: find me
Contact:

Post by SinistraD »

I just solved it, so I can help you, send me your code, and I'll take a look on it
User avatar
m!nus
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:49 pm
Location: Germany

Post by m!nus »

knoerxi wrote:Hi i'am confused..


Expected: 'Hello, World', got: 'Hello, World'
'[program code here]' is incorrect.

The output of my programm is the right answer probably, why is it incorrect?
You have a 0x01 byte on the end, if you use firefox you see a little box
knoerxi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:37 am

Post by knoerxi »

Thank's again..

The 0x01 was not seen with my browser... and the tool i used to write the code had a nice little bug..
User avatar
SinistraD
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:39 am
Location: find me
Contact:

Re: My program

Post by SinistraD »

Omg, you're such a retard, do you want to steal from others the challenging experience?
Allosentient
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:47 pm

Post by Allosentient »

It's not much of a challenging challenge, haha.
wannabe7331
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:58 pm

Post by wannabe7331 »

89*...*+P

much code?

regards wb7331
User avatar
CodeX
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:28 pm

Post by CodeX »

challenges/challenges solved, practically the same aside from people who haven't completed the challenge can't view the challenges solved thread on it, I wonder why... I guess some things we will never know
Mad Mike
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:38 pm

Silly question?

Post by Mad Mike »

Okay, so I went the cheesy way and initialized my memory with a bunch of useful constants. Which works fine in both implementations, but can I tell the website to load my memory string somehow or do I need to do some real thinking?

Thanks~
chown -R us ./base
guga
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:39 pm

Post by guga »

The memory isn't meant to be initialized by yourself. The memory can be initialized by the challenge itself (then it is stated in the challenge description).
Cf the hvm description
By default, [...] all the cells in the memory buffer set to 0. When specified, it is possible for the memory buffer to have been initialized to a known state before executing a program.
You can of course change the memory from within your program using the < > instruction.
Post Reply